should you live in fear?

Fear is a funny thing in a way.  What do we tell our kids about crossing the road?  Look both ways.  Why?  So you don’t get hit by a car.  Don’t stick forks in the outlets.  Why?  You could fry your brain.  Brush your teeth or you’ll end up with just gums eating applesauce.  I guess it’s a quick way to teach kids there are consequences for their actions.  Well, unless they are CEO’s of large financial or insurance companies in which case, feel free to cross that street, all the cars will stop and let them pass and throw money on the ground in front of them so their diamond soled shoes won’t get dirty.

Many of us are living in fear right now.  We’re afraid that our job won’t be there for much longer.  We’re afraid to make a major purchase, needed or not, since it will cut into our budget.  I got yelled at by a reporter on NBC last night because I am not consuming.  She basically explained the circle of economics.  People have to buy things so that companies that make these things will make more and employ the people who buy things.  Yes, we know that, but damned if things aren’t getting just a bit more expensive.  And shame on me for planning a little bit ahead into what I may or may not need to cut back if one of us happens to lack work at some point.  I read a complaint the other day too that demand for gas is going down.  The logic went something like this:  Gas is close to half what it was over the summer and yet consumption is not increasing.  Well no kidding genius!  We were told to have “staycations” this summer even though no one needed to say that because we couldn’t afford the gas to go anywhere anyway.  Now we’re just driving to and from work like we did all summer and still buying gas.  What would you like me to do, drive an extra five miles each way just because gas is cheaper? 

The lead story on the news this past week has been the economy.  Mr. Williams actually apologized on Thursday night’s cast for staying on the negative subject.  Look, don’t patronize me, Brian (I call him Brian because he always thanks me for watching and hopes to see me again tomorrow night) just read the teleprompter and dish out the information that keeps people watching.  Tell me how bad it’s going to be, tell me that Walmart is turning a profit (for selling groceries) and Exxon/Mobil are still doing well.  Then tell me about a dog who hopes to someday make it to the White House.  That way, I’ll turn off the program with a pessimistic full view surrounded by a slight hint of optimism. 

Okay, got a little sidetracked there.  Fear is a motivator.  Let’s face it, the 2004 election was run on fear.  An increase in gun sales following the 2008 election is fueled by fear (and I’m guessing a slight bit of stupidity and shallow mindedness either that or the belief that the new president elect will legislate tougher gun laws).  What if you made a decision not to be afraid?  Could you get up every morning telling yourself, I’ll just take this day as it comes to me?  I won’t worry about being injured, saying the wrong thing, getting fired, spilling my coffee…I’ll just be.  Then you’d zip up the side of the bubble and wait for those nice people in white robes to bring you your breakfast.

Okay, I’ll stop being a cynic for just a moment.  How about if I try to be less fearful, not worry about things that are beyond my control?  I won’t even ask you to try, I’ll do it and get back to you at some point providing I can still afford internet access.  Ack, okay, starting now.

Wait, what was that sound?  I think there are ghosts in my house.

Okay, starting now.

2 Responses to “should you live in fear?”

  1. Dublin To Rochester Says:

    I think the obvious answer is to not live in fear. How often do we make good decisions when we are scared? I think the current economic situation is bad, but is it the end of everything we have come to expect in the 21st century? I doubt it. But very headline starts with “crisis” “meltdown” and “depression” So people are going to be soiling themselves.

    People say we are headed to a bear market not seen since the 1970s. Check out some historical charts of the S&P 500. We have been living it for the last 7 years. So it’s going to be bad, but history tells us this could be the last stage of stagnate times. Your mother, brother and/or yourself may lose a job, maybe even a home, but there is no need to live in fear.

  2. afhcu95 Says:

    Interesting points. The only thing I really remember about the 70’s economically speaking was the gas lines. I was too young to recall my parents discussing finances or politics, but seem to feel there was a ton of time sitting in the car on various occassions. Either that, or I found a cool hiding spot when I was sneaking cheerios and filling a diaper. The good thing is that if we can get things on the right path, our kids won’t remember or have to worry about this stuff either. Seems like that’s a much bigger IF than our parents faced though.

Leave a Reply

