Not the greatest showing

Hey, me, not a great showing on the blogs here.  I think I put much more effort into my work blog, which I guess is the right thing to do considering that’s how I get paid and all.  Of course, now that I mention it to myself, that’s not really what I’m paid to do.  I was thinking about what to discuss and finally decided just talking about what I do.  The band has not practiced in about two months.  We’re having some challenges getting our schedules to coordinate.  With no gigs on the horizon, it’s sometimes tough to commit to a practice time.  One week our bass player was in Virginia, the next our keyboardist was in the UK, the following, I was in Vegas.  If we can get our guitarist to travel for business, we’ll be 4 for 4 on trips while going 0 for 4 on weekly practices.  At last, the light is appearing, we’ll be on tomorrow night and even have some sort of plan for practice.  There is nothing like the excitement of getting to play again coupled with the frustration of not really knowing which tunes to do and sorting through sheets to pick a tune.  I think we finally have the right line up for Pink Floyd’s Money.  We tried this in Ned Pepper, and performed it once.  Back in September 2002 (conception month it seems), we pulled a three shows in two days stunt.  The tour started at a Labor Day festival called Groundstomp down in Belfast, NY.  This was a show we had done before and shared the stage with the likes of the Park Ave Band, Long Trip Johnny, and Sunny Weather.  It was private land with camping and a home built stage.  We had played this same show for three years, with each having mixed results.  It always seemed to be fun, then would go too long, the would be fun again, and then I’d have to knock down and old drunk dude…. but that’s a story for another time I guess.  We launched into the 7/4 start of Money somewhere around 3AM and ended it some 7 minutes later allowing it to die a nice slow death before launching into Hard to Handle…set list irony at it’s finest.  The song was ever heard from again.

Leave a Reply

